Thank you, blog friends

I don’t typically make formal resolutions each year, but more casually think about a few things I’d like to accomplish each year to make my life healthier, easier, and more productive. I don’t put them on paper, just make mental notes…that way I’m not disappointed and my life feels less focused on ‘rules’ I’ve set for myself. This year a few of my items are courtesy of other bloggers, so a big ‘thank you’ to them for letting be copy their resolutions!

Here’s my list for this year:

  1. Carry-over from last year: make healthier food choices, de-clutter and simplify, regular exercise, reduce impulse purchases
  2. Email clean-up: I receive way too many emails from online retailers, deal websites, etc. Friend and fellow blogger tuned me into Unroll.me to help clean things up. This one will also help me with my impulse purchases and decluttering (see #1).
  3. Better organized task/to-do lists and notes: I use my phone calendar, which is also tied to my work calendar, pretty regularly and have completely gotten rid of a paper calendar a while ago. My tasks and to-do lists, however, have been severely lacking in organization. I take notes regularly in all my meetings, but finding my action items (or remembering I have action items) is challenging. This blogger led me to a great solution…I hope. Use a daily calendar for note taking, action items, etc. I picked up my calendar today, so we’ll see how it goes. I’ve got a notebook specifically for meeting notes so I think organizing my notes in a calendar format should work for me.
  4. Stay updated on current events: I’ve always been terrible about reading the paper, watching the news, and generally finding out what’s going on in the world. Again, from my blogger friend, I’ve subscribed to the Daily Skimm, a daily email that clearly and concisely summarizes the top news stories each day (except the weekends).
  5. I’m optimistic I can be successful at most (and hopefully all) of my list this year. I’ve actually started implementing several of the items already and it’s only Day Six of the new year. Go me!!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

