New Mom Confession

Isaac SleepingWe’re three weeks into this exciting new adventure and it’s true, this is hard. The newborn honeymoon is over. Everyone I talked to said the first couple of months would be hard, but you don’t realize just how challenging, exhausting, patience-trying, etc it really is until you’re in the thick of things.

The sleepless nights suck, not being able to figure out what the Little Man wants sucks, getting frustrated and feeling like you’re doing it all wrong sucks. I know every new mom feels this way and I know deep down inside I’m doing just fine, but in that moment of sleep deprived weakness, these feelings creep in.

But that sweet little face makes it all worthwhile along with the giant light at the end of the tunnel knowing he will eventually figure out his days and nights and sleep longer than two hours at night. I am, however, secretly enjoying the moments at 1am when all he wants to do is snuggle up and sleep right on my chest…I know he won’t want to snuggle with me forever.

In between the emotional ups and downs, I do appreciate having the best partner in crime who I can laugh with (and who makes me laugh) when all you really want to do is cry. We laugh at the surprise showers we receive during diaper changes, little Isaac’s tiny farts, how he always manages to spit up after a failed five minute burp session, his new found ‘voice’ (tiny grunts, cooing and all), and the cute little faces he makes in his sleep.

PS – I am also very thankful for the soothing vibration setting on the bouncy chair that is allowing me to type this blog post, send a couple of emails, and write a few thank you notes.

One response to “New Mom Confession”

  1. Stephanie says :

    Yep, yep, and yep. It seems like moms quickly forget how hard it is – the brain is amazing like that! I’m always just a text, call, or email away if you need to commiserate!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

