Currently Reading

Bringing Up Bebe by Pamela Druckerman.

20130318-194321.jpg
Over the last year or so, I’ve seen this book pop up on a couple of blogs I read. It sounded interesting to me, but a little irrelevant since I didn’t have kids. Now that I’ve got a bun in the oven, I thought the subject was now a little more relevant and quickly downloaded it to my Kindle.

The American author (journalist by trade) write about her experience moving to Paris and having a baby. As a new mom, she begins to observe some differences between French and American parenting. The book is a mix of her observations and personal experiences as well as research and references to past parenting and child development studies.

I guess you could label it a parenting style but, as I’ve learned while reading, French moms don’t feel like they are doing anything special or out of the ordinary…so maybe it’s more cultural. Just a more relaxed way of life and child-rearing. Children fit into their lifestyle, they aren’t worried about keeping up with the ‘Joneses’ or getting started early (tennis lessons, reading, piano, being bi-lingual, etc), they’re going to daycare (crèche), most mothers work full time, there are no kids menus, etc.

Even though I’m only about halfway through, I find her observations/research/etc interesting and very thought-provoking. The US vs. French…I think I’ll take some of each. Kids don’t come with manuals and there is no right or wrong way to parent, so I’m sure I’ll take pieces away from this book just like any other parenting book that I may read.

Overall, a funny and interesting read!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

