Exterior Project: painting the shutters

Today the weather was finally cool enough for me to paint the shutters on our house…well, one set anyway! I’ve been wanting to do this ever since I painted the front door last year.

Because of the type of screw used to secure them to the house, I had to paint them on the house which required a bit more prep work, but I had one set done in an afternoon.

Here is the before:

20120805-161200.jpg

And after:

20120805-161247.jpg

I think the black accents pull out the gray tones in the brick and siding, giving it a bit more contemporary feel than the dusty blue color.

Now I just need to finish the other two sets, which are a bit higher up. I’d also like to switch out the silver light fixtures for black. One step at a time!

One response to “Exterior Project: painting the shutters”

  1. Grandma K. says :

    Tres Chic!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

