Done….

A couple of weeks ago while my mom was over for a visit she asked Josh and I if the house was done and we had it where we wanted it. Almost simultaneously he answered ‘yes’ and I answered ‘no.’ I thought we were on the same page, but apparently we’re not!

He looked at me surprised and said, “what do you mean, we have furniture in all the rooms.” What more do you want?

I was shocked too at our lack of agreement and started rattling off my mental list of things that I want to do to the house: new flooring throughout, new bathroom light fixtures, dining table, dining room chandelier, sectional for the basement, organized and functional office area, chair and lighting for the living room, bedroom nightstands…I could go on.

He shook his head and walked out of the room with the ‘aren’t you ever happy’ look on his face.

It’s not that I’m not happy, I love my house and the way everything is coming together bit by bit, creating a story for each new piece we add. I just don’t think I’ll ever be finished with our home until I can walk into any room and love it just the way it is.

So no, we haven’t reached the finish line, but I’m okay with that…most days!

What about you? Do you feel like your home is finished?

One response to “Done….”

  1. Jane Kirsch says :

    By the time your ‘finished’ you have to start all over again because the very first things you did are outdated or you’re simply sick of them. So I think you’re never ‘finished’. A house is an ongoing project–and thats how it should be!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

