My name is Jayne and I have a problem…

…I have a bit of a pantry hoarding problem. I accept I have a problem. It’s a little out of control I think. I didn’t really understand I had problem until I saw this pantry re-do (that happens to be very similar in size and location to mine) here today. Honestly, it’s a little embarrassing.

I meal plan, stick to my shopping list (90% of the time), make what I plan (90% of the time), etc. I think deep down, it’s just my need to be prepared and here’s why:

  • What if I don’t want to cook tonight, so I need something quick on hand. Or if I’m not home for dinner, Josh needs something to eat. (Mac & Cheese, frozen chicken strips & fries, frozen pizza)
  • What if we have people over, I need to have snacks. (I always have at least 1 box of brownie mix on hand, crackers, nuts, etc)
  • Girl Scout Cookies: they are only available once a year and I need to stock up!
  • Trader Joes: we don’t have one in Iowa City so I need to stock up on our favorites when I’m near one.

You know what’s funny about each of my justifications? I use my favorite word, need. Need is defined (thank you Google) as, “Require (something) because it is essential or very important.” I’m pretty sure none of these fall under the category of need. We aren’t going to starve if I don’t have a frozen pizza in the freezer and Casey’s is just down the street if I feel the need to host an impromptu party.

I think it’s time for an intervention, so I’ve added ‘Pantry Re-Do’ to my list of things to-do next weekend and will provide a full pictoral update.

I know I’m not the only one out there (MOM! I  believe you’re the one that taught me this skill), who else suffers with this same addiction?

5 responses to “My name is Jayne and I have a problem…”

  1. Emily says :

    I’m totally with you! Makes me not feel so bad about how FULL ours is. We had to pitch a bunch of stuff during the move because we didn’t have enough space in the cars; I headed right to the store to replace it all once we arrived. :). Glad to hear I’m not alone– I knew there was a reason I liked you so much! Miss you!

  2. Carol Klein says :

    You and your Mom probably got my hoarding gene. I do everything you do (and more) but also buy extras of foods we eat a lot of that have a fairly long shelf-life (and household supplies) that are on sale – and – feel like I’ve made out like a bandit if I have a coupon. I use coupons to try new foods, or ones I don’t normally IF both Grandpa and I might like it (exceptions CANDY or other snacks!). I don’t plan meals weekly; wait to see what’s a good buy on our shopping day (Wednesdays) that might fit in with what I have in the freezer and semi-plan for the rest of the week (or Grandpa has a request for a favorite receipe). I have lots of left-overs for two in the freezer and pull those out when I have a brain-freeze or run around too much. After 57 years, I’m just plain tired of cooking sometimes. And that’s why there are times when Grandpa says, “Let’s eat out!” – he wants to order off of a menu.

  3. Carol Klein says :

    PS: What I meant to say was that there isn’t anything wrong with a little pantry hoarding if you eventually get around to using what you buy. Also – if I find that food items are not moving off of the shelf fairly soon, it’s donated to our church’s food pantry; I know it won’t be wasted.

    Grandma K.

  4. Karen says :

    Hello. My name is Karen and I have the same addiction. However, for the last month or so, I’ve been planning my meals out of the pantry / freezer so as to reduce my ‘stash’. Sometimes our meals seem a little ‘weird’ but they aren’t bad and I have spent less money!

    Now, don’t even get me started about hoarding toilet paper….

  5. buntens says :

    1: Josh can always go to Casey’s if you happen to be not home for dinner…or come over to the Bunten residence!
    2. Thanks for the plug about Girl Scout cookies. You can never have too many!
    3. If I had the space I’d probably have a stocked pantry, too! Except having lots of snacks on hand means I would be eating them constantly!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

