My next read

ImageLast night at a meeting I heard a great presentation (by Ms Mayhem) about volunteering and mentoring….stepping outside of our comfort zones to expand our skills and experiences and sharing what we know with others. During her presentation she referenced the book Tuesdays with Morrie and shared a few quotes from. I vaguely remember reading this book several years ago so this morning I reserved my copy at our local Barnes & Noble for pick up this weekend.

One of my takeaways from the presentation was just reaffirming that we should never stop learning and growing ourselves. And learning doesn’t just come from schools and work. It comes from life experiences, friends, colleagues, the community, etc.

Another little tidbit is that we are all be mentors, no matter how old! It’s kinda crazy to think of myself as a mentor, but I’m definitely interested in maybe finding my own mentor. I think it’s great opportunity to learn new things and from someone elses experiences. Maybe I’ve already had mentors and just didn’t realize it..hmmm, food for thought.

I feel like I’m on the right path in life, trying new things, continuing to  learn more, and hopefully sharing my strengths with others.

Just curious…have you had/do you have a mentor? Were you seeking out a mentor or did the connection just happen?

One response to “My next read”

  1. Cindy says :

    Jayne, I am glad that you took away some “nuggets”…It was nerve wracking presenting to my peers. Even presenting, I took away some reminders.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

