An Oswald Update

We all know Josh loves to talk about his personal life (NOT!) and I’ve been itching to share more since the Elephant in the Room post of 2010. It just takes Josh a little bit more prodding. Since it has been over a year, I thought I’d provide a little update.

As previously discussed, it has proven a little more difficult for us to produce a bun in the oven than what we thought…yes, it does seems like everyone else is having a baby except us! We’ve been a little more ‘aggressive’ in 2011 to the tune of charts, temperatures, and medications. In July I began my first round of clomid (used to stimulate ovulation) and have responded positively each month, just no bun in the oven. Next up is the HSG (aka Dye Test), which is basically an x-ray to see if there are any blockages. So we continue through the process of infertility, keeping our spirits up, praying about it, laughing a lot…not gonna lie though, there are a few tears. I’m not shouting it from the rooftops, but I’m not hiding it either. If someone asks, I’m open to sharing our experiences.

Which leads me to  Part 2…Because of our struggles with infertility, Josh and I have chosen to become foster/adoptive parents! We are in no way giving up on having children of our own, we still have many more paths to explore on this one, we just feel this is another opportunity for us to have children in our home. And there are many children out there who need good homes.

We are currently halfway through a ten week training class to become licensed as foster/adoptive parents. So far it’s been an amazing experience, overwhelming at times, but we’ve learned so much, and are very excited about this opportunity. Part of the licensing process are also home visits with our assigned social worker, to help prepare ourselves and our home. We’ve got our first home vistit this week and I’m so ready to find out what we need to get done so I can get to work.

Phew, so glad to get that out! I’ve got loads of blogging material I want to share with all our new experiences and preparations (shopping & decorating!!). I can’t wait to get blogging!

5 responses to “An Oswald Update”

  1. Nick says :

    It’ll happen! Just keep on truckin’!

  2. Stephanie says :

    Thanks for sharing, Jayne. It’s wonderful for you to share your experience, especially as there are many others in the same position. You and Josh are going to make fantastic parents – any children will be lucky to be a part of your family and home.

  3. Alyssa says :

    Wow. You just warmed my heart. I had no idea what you were going through. Prayers will definitely be sent your way. There will some very blessed foster children in the near future. You will be giving a gift that not many people consider. Thank you for sharing and thank you for opening your home and hearts to children in need. 🙂

  4. Cindy says :

    Goosebumps. You gave me goosebumps.

  5. Jane Kirsch says :

    I agree with Alyssa. Any foster child would be blessed to be in your house. I think your bun will come when least expected and then we can all celebrate.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

