Preventative Measures

Let me start by saying that I love my family, I think they are pretty great and I wouldn’t trade them in. But I don’t really appreciate the tidbits that are being passed down. Right now I currently have high blood pressure, but have it controlled with medication,  but I learned last night that I’ve got even more tidbits of ‘fun’ to look forward to…thanks Mom!

My mom eats very well, is in good shape and is definitely not over weight (she’s way healthier than I am!) but she learned a few months ago that she’s fat on the inside…aka, fatty liver and the like. She also has high blood pressure and high cholesterol (all hereditary). So she started counting calories, but mostly her carbohydrate intake to, try and reduce the fattiness. It’s worked very well and that diagnosis has been removed, she’s lost some weight, and has really changed her lifestyle. But, at her follow-up appointment she was diagnosed as pre-diabetic! CRAZY!

Pre-diabetes basically means that your levels are higher than normal, but not enough to be diagnosed with diabetes, but still enough to be causing damage to to your body (heart, circulatory system, etc). It still puts you at a 50% higher risk for heart disease and stroke.

I did have a little freak-out moment, but it passed and I decided I could take steps now to prevent (hopefully) a similar diagnosis. I eat pretty well now, but can still make better food choices and adjust some of my habits. Now that my knee is back to normal (for the most part) I’ll be exercising more, and I’ll start tracking my calories thanks to the ease of an iphone app. From the little research that I have done, it sounds like by reducing your weight and exercising you can actally get your levels back to normal and possibly avoid a diabetes diagnosis.

We’ll see how this goes, but I would like to shed some extra weight!

3 responses to “Preventative Measures”

  1. buntens says :

    Mike’s dad is diabetic so we try to watch what we eat – especially Audrey. It’s tough, though. His stepmom was also diagnosed with diabetes last winter but is controlling her blood sugar with her diet.

  2. Karen says :

    Didn’t mean to freak you out!!!

  3. snarkatussin says :

    My dad passed on kidney stones and insomnia to me — not the tan, Syrian skin…

    Good luck with your diet and exercise combo!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

