Josh-ism

Disclaimer: before reading the below post remember, this is the Oswald blog and merely expresses our opinions/beliefs and thoughts on our life. We are not criticizing anyone and I have no intentions of hurting anyone’s feelings.

Ash Wednesday always reminds me of one of my favorite Josh-isms. It’s not necessarily the actual -ism itself, but the passion, confidence, and knowledge with which he expresses his beliefs that makes up the Josh-ism.

For many, Lent is the time of year when something is given up (computer, TV, candy, soda, etc) until Easter as a reminder of what Christ sacrificed for us…His life. Josh (and me too) does not feel that this sacrifice is necessary since Christ has already made the ultimate sacrifice. While the act of giving something up is a symbol or reminder of His sacrifice, it ultimately takes the focus away from the season of Lent and the celebration of the gift Christ has given us. So, whenever anyone asks him what he’s giving up for Lent (and believe me, he LOVES getting that question), you can rest assured he will confidently share his feelings.

It’s not that I’m embarrassed by my beliefs, it’s just not in my nature to ‘shout it from the rooftops,’ I’m just a little more reserved. I will though, if asked, share my beliefs and feels and I respect each person’s preferences (for lack of a better word).

Just one of the many things I so admire about my hubby.

3 responses to “Josh-ism”

  1. Karen says :

    You guys are so Lutheran!!!

    And what is Josh giving up for Lent?

  2. Vicki says :

    Great witness, Jayne!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

