Family Dinner Night

I’m loving football season because my brother’s pretty much a permanent resident in our house for the three months of Hawkeye Football since he has season tickets with us. This year, he’s extended his stay with us on Sunday’s for the whole day and joined in our lazy NFL day on the couch, laundry day (he brings his laundry too!), and then a good homecooked meal. I’ve started calling it our Family Dinner Night and I LOVE it!!

So far we’ve been all about warm comfort meals that the cold weather brings. Last night was no exception and we cooked up an Italian Pot Roast in the slow cooker (thanks for the recipe CB!) Add some roasted carrots & potatoes and it was delicious! I did change one thing…I made the gravy in a saucepan instead of the crockpot. (ps. I’m turning the leftovers into hot beef sandwiches since we had so much leftover gravy…can’t let good gravy go to waste!).

I think I’m going to be pretty sad when that last football game is over and we pack away our tailgating supplies along with Family Dinner Sunday. It’s times like these I wish we had family in town.

5 responses to “Family Dinner Night”

  1. Cynthia says :

    Can’t your brother still come for dinner on the weekends even when football season ends?

    p.s. I wish I had family that lived closer, too. Oh wait, I DO have a sister in-law in Tiffin! 🙂

  2. Karen says :

    Boy – that looks really yummy! I’ll have to try that.

  3. Josh says :

    Of course, you need some venison, Karen. 🙂

    J.

  4. Nick says :

    I think Josh is glad everyone lives as far away as they do 😉

  5. Josh says :

    You don’t even know me, Nick! Oh wait…

    J.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

