Meetings: love ’em or leave ’em?

I’m a fan of meetings…well, efficient meetings that do not waste my time. It could be the organized nature of a meeting, it’s at a set time, location, there’s an agenda, I can be prepared to discuss the topic, etc. But I also think they help avoid those instances when there is a lack of communication when people feel out of the loop or that their expectations haven’t been met.

My favorite, though, are my one-on-one touch base meetings. I don’t like to constantly interrupt my supervisor for little things, but with these touch base meetings I can save up the handful of questions, contracts/invoices that need to be signed, and other non-critical items for that one time each week when I have undivided attention. It’s also a great way for me to stay on the same page with my supervisor so that there aren’t any surprises when those annual reviews pop up. It also feels like more of a partnership with my supervisor rather than a ‘babysitter’ (for lack of a better word) or micromanager…it’s not so intimidating, I’m more comfortable, which helps me now since I’m so new to this position.

What’s your take on meetings…Do you Love ’em or could you do without?

3 responses to “Meetings: love ’em or leave ’em?”

  1. buntens says :

    HATE ‘EM!

  2. md says :

    HATE them!

  3. Josh says :

    What’s a “meeting?”

    J.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

