Do It Yourself: Pillows!

This project is too simple (and cheap!) not to share and I can’t believe I waited this long to make my own pillows! If you can sew a straight line, you can do this. All you need are a few simple materials and an afternoon or evening in front of the TV.

Materials (for 2- 26″ floor pillows)

  • 1-2 yards of upholstery weight fabric (I like upholstery because it’s durable)
  • 3 packages of Batting (depends on the firmness you desire…I used 2 1/2 packages)
  • Coordinating thread
  • pins
  • Scissors
  • Tape measure/ruler/yardstick
  • Sewing machine

1. Cut your fabric to the desired size. For floor pillow I saw sizes between 20″-26″, couch pillows ranch from about 12″-18″. You need two pieces.

2. Turn your fabric pieces so the pretty sides are facing each other. Pin around the edges to help keep in place.

3. Start sewing! for my seam allowance I just line up the edge of the fabric with the inside edge of the presser foot (I think it looks like a needle guard). IMPORTANT: on the last side either leave the whole thing open or sew a couple of inches in on each side. You need to be able to turn the pillow right side out and stuff it. For the floor pillows, I made my opening large enough to get both hands in since the pillow is so big.

4. Get comfy on the couch and start stuffing…this part took the longest. The trick is to pull the batting apart into small pieces as you stuff it. As your pillow starts to fill, push the batting into the corners and shake it a little so that it will settle. I found that I needed way more than I thought I would.

5. Close your opening. Fold in the raw edges, about 1/8-1/4″, and pin. Sew shut and you’re done!

These two pillows are the perfect addition to our black & gold basement. You can’t tell from the pictures, but there a little yellow dots in the fabric that accent the wall color perfectly.

Total Cost: $20 for 2 pillows!

2 responses to “Do It Yourself: Pillows!”

  1. Josh A. says :

    Zoey ought to have a lot of fun with those!!

  2. bagolitasblog says :

    Who knew you’d be giving sewing lessons? The pillows look great. LOVE the fabric!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

