What I’ve Learned

We haven’t been married that long in the grand scheme, but I have learned quite a bit in the small amount of time we’ve been married. Each year about the time our anniversary rolls around I not only like to celebrate with my main squeeze, but I also like to reflect on the year and what I’ve learned about us and myself.

1. Marriage is not like the movies, it’s not always fun, and it takes a lot of work. There are days when I’m ready to throw in the towel, am so annoyed  by Josh, and am just ready to be single. But, you do have to work at your relationship constantly, the work doesn’t stop when you get married. Some days are easier than others, but at the end of the day you love the one your with!

2. You need alone time! Josh and I have lots of things we enjoy doing together and friends we love to hang out with, but we also have activities that we do ourselves. Josh has golf, I have volleyball, there are girls and guys nights out, etc. And to that I would add, trust your partner! I’ve seen instances of un-trusting partners and it doesn’t work….at least not in the long run.

3. Pick your battles or don’t sweat the small stuff. ‘Nough said.

4. Communication. If you’re upset or don’t like something, talk about it. Mind reading does not come with marriage and, of all people, you should be able to openly communicate with your spouse. AND, along the lines of communication…listen and be open. You may not agree with how your spouse is feeling, but that is how they feel. Right or wrong that is their feelings.

I think that about sums it up, but I’m sure I’ll think of point five in about three hours. Thoughts? How long have you been married and what have you learned?

One response to “What I’ve Learned”

  1. Nick says :

    Sounds good!

    On a side note, I am single and ready to mingle people! Help a brotha out!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

