Vacuum Recommendations

Okay folks, I need your help. The Oswald’s are in the market for a new vacuum cleaner and I’m looking for recommendations. I need something that is excellent on pet hair, allergies, and is somewhat easy to carry and has a long cord.

I’ve debated back and forth between the Dyson Animal and Hoover Wind Tunnel Anniversary Edition which I don’t think they sell anymore. Everything I read is very mixed on all different types of vacuums…I think I find the right one and then I read a handful of not so great reviews. All the pet forums people are singing the praises of their Dyson. Ugh, what to do! I don’t mind investing a little money, but I don’t really want to pay $500 for a vacuum.

Help!!

7 responses to “Vacuum Recommendations”

  1. JT says :

    Dyson. No debate. Here are my hints… see if you can find a store or online vendor selling last year or the year before’s model… it will be cheaper but just as effective. Ideally you can find a cheap price at Bed, Bath, & Beyond and then add on one of those 20% off coupons they are always sending you in the mail. Totally worth the $$$.

  2. TJ says :

    Amen to JT. I get to use it when Vicki doesn’t want to. It is the next best thing to “almost-fun” that you can get vaccumming. (sorry about mispeling vacuming, it really sux)

  3. Jane Kirsch says :

    http://www.hoover.com/product.aspx?model=UH30010COM&ds=false

    I would recommend the Hoover Platinum. I have it and really like it. I ordered it from the Hoover website because it was less there than any of the stores. It has a lot of power and automatically adjusts to carpet height. A light tells you when the bag is full and it has a long cord. It comes with the pictured canister and attachments. It is fairly light weight and easy to carry.

  4. Kelly says :

    I would recommend any vacuum from Bed, Bath & Beyond. They have an excellent selection for allergies and pet hair. And they do have those lovely 20% off coupons. Also, a $500 vacuum isn’t that bad….you won’t be replacing it every 12 – 18 months….you’ll have it for quite a while.

  5. Alyssa says :

    My sister swears by her Dyson. She has a golden and it seems to do the job!

  6. Nick says :

    Eureka is good! I have one!

  7. Cynthia says :

    I didn’t read many good things about the Dyson pet hair vacuum when we were shopping for ours. I’ve been really happy with our Kenmore’s performance but it’s kind of heavy. No matter what kind we’ve had, the pet hair attachment always clogs and stops working so I wouldn’t even use that feature in your decision making process. Anita swears by her Oreck but they’re pretty pricey. However, something needed to be repaired on it so she took it in and they fixed it for free!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

