My First Time…Part 2

I’ve had a desire to be more involved in the community for a while now, just for that something more in my life so I’m not always sitting on the couch. I’m not exactly sure what I have in mind, but I just want an opportunity to meet new people, volunteer in the community, and make connections.

The logo (see post below) led to just such an opportunity. A few days after I had produced sample logos I received a call asking if I wanted to be the Communications Chair for the event. My friend was on the event committee and her sister was the Director…sounds like fun and a great opportunity. I’ve been loving every minute!

Voila, I am now the Communications Chair for Laugh Yourself Blue for Cerebral Palsy being held April 24th at the Clarion Hotel in Cedar Rapids. The event was started  by a group of parents and volunteers in the Cedar Rapids area in the hopes of creating a local chapter for the Reaching for the Stars Foundation (RFTS), a national non-profit organization. The goal is to raise $20,000 to further the Reaching for the Stars mission of creating new medicines and treatments for children with Cerebral Palsy (CP). The event will feature comedian Josh Blue (winner of Last Comic Standing 2006) who has CP, wine tastings from four area wineries, and live & silent auctions. Special guests for the evening will be Anna Marie Champion, co-founder of RFTS, and Michael Kutcher, an active member of the Cedar Rapids community who also has CP.

If you are interested in tickets, donating auction items, or supporting our efforts of creating an Iowa Chapter of Reaching for the Stars, please let me know.

                                                 

One response to “My First Time…Part 2”

  1. Alyssa says :

    Congrats on being a part of something so great! That is wonderful! (great logo work too!)

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

