Food Rules

I think weight loss is on just about everyone’s New Year’s Resolution list. I hate to be so cliché, but it is on mine too. I don’t really want to pay for a gym membership and I know I’m not going to be outside exercising in below zero temperatures. So, I figured the best way for me to get this resolution off to the right start was with my eating habits. If I can do a better job with my eating during the winter, then I can really get a jump start when spring hits and I can get outside and walk with the dog, plus sand volleyball starts in the summer.

 I stumbled across this book, Food Rules by Michael Pollan, at the bookstore the other day. Yep, an impulse purchase. I have to say, though, it is one of my best impulse purchases…and it only took me about a half hour to read! It contains 64 of the easiest, most fool proof food rules around. The hardest part will be to actually stick to it, I’m a big snacker and I do love sweet treats.

My favorites:

  • Don’t eat anything your grandmother wouldn’t recognize as food.
  • Eat only foods that will eventually rot.
  • It’s not a food if it’s called by the same name in every language. (hard b/c I do love McD’s!)
  • The whiter the bread, the sooner you’ll be dead.
  • Have a glass of wine (red) with dinner.
  • Avoid food products containing ingredients that a third-grader cannot pronounce.
  • Break the rules once in a while.

Any advice to sticking to healthy eating? I’d love to hear what your tips are for staying on a healthy diet.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

