My Very Own…

French CookingThis afternoon while talking with Mom and Grandma about cooking, Mom gets up and pulls out Grandma’s copy of The Art of Mastering French Cooking by Julia Child…I about fell out of the rocker! I can’t tell you how excited I was when Grandma asked me if I wanted it. I said yes (of course!) and she flips the book open to the cover and written on it is “Christmas 1965, Ruth Klein.” My great-grandmother had given this to her as a gift. What a special book to have and be able to add to my cookbook collection.

I had been searching ebay for my own copy, but am delighted to have the 1965 copy that my grandma has cooked from. Looking through it this afternoon a few of the recipes even have little notations next to them…check marks, good or excellent written next to the recipe. I can’t wait to get home a whip up a Julia Child recipe…butter and all!

3 responses to “My Very Own…”

  1. Stephanie says :

    How cool, Jayne! That will be an awesome book for cooking and memories.

  2. Mom Oz says :

    Well that is just cool!

  3. buntens says :

    How awesome! All I got was a fondue and chafing dish cookbook that my mother in-law got from HER mother in-law. Chafing dish. Really?

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

